In 2014 there will be 28 official holidays in Russia.


In Russia there are 8 public holidays.

It is interesting to note that if a holiday falls on Saturday or Sunday, one weekend day before or after the official holiday is treated as a holiday.

The official Russian holidays are:

January 1st – New year’s

7 of January – Christmas

23 of February – Day of the Defender of the Fatherland

8 of March – International Women’s Day

1 of May – Holiday of Spring and Labor

9 of May – Victory Day

12 of June– Day of Russia

4 of November – Day of National unity


New Year holidays in Russia in 2014 will last for eight days, starting from 1 January.


Christmas is celebrated in Russia on 7th of January.

Source: Resolution of the Government of the Russian Federation.

To discover Russia with Alexey Gureev

We are glad to discover Russia together with you!

We put our heart into the project. Join us on Facebook or Twitter: